The Human League

A lot of good music came out of Sheffield, England in the ’70s and ’80s. Like yesterday’s featured act, Cabaret Voltaire, The Human League were based there.

I am a fan of everything Human League. From their early experimental synth offerings in the late 70s to the chart-topping days of their catchy synthpop sound in the early 80s to the most recently released “Secrets” album. In other words, it’s all good to me. They’ve been around for 30 years and through many personnel changes, they remain a name synonymous with the synthpop sound.

So many great songs to choose from! “The Black Hit of Space”, “Toyota City”, “Being Boiled”, “Don’t You Want Me”, “Hard Times”, “Human”, “(Keep Feeling) Fascination”, “Mirror Man”, “Heart Like A Wheel”… and these songs as well…

“Empire State Human”

“The Sound of the Crowd”

“Love Action (I Believe in Love)”

I have the Made in Sheffield video. It’s a must-have if you’re an early synthpop lover!

About Marilyn

DJ, Digital Diva, Domestic Dabbler

Posted on August 7, 2007, in synthpop, The Human League. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Synthpop pioneers, the ones who really seemed to bring it to the mainstream. There were others, of course, but the re-jigged Human League were a package that the UK took too very quickly.

    Seen them live about 5 or 6 times over the last few years, they really are superb live. Live At The Dome DVD is a good example of just how good they are now…

  2. What a truly a fantastic band that didn’t get the respect they deserved until electroclash happened and Richard X sampled THL to create half a dozen hit singles in UK a few years ago. Love the video picks Marilyn.

  3. Hey Daft Monk, I’m glad you like! I hope you’ll continue to drop by and comment on the bands I feature. 🙂

  4. Jan 11, 1982 – One of the hardest decisions I had to make in the early 80s was to chose between seeing The Pretenders at the Paladium or The Human League at The Ritz. Since my friend was driving, if I wanted a ride, I had to go to see the Pretenders. The show was good and Alan Vega and Suicide opened. So, that was a bonus. To this day, I don’t know if I made the right choice. Since Jimmy the guitarist died that following June from an overdose, I guess I was lucky to see the original lineup. Ah, the good old days in NYC when there were so many great bands playing on a given night, it was a struggle just figuring out where to go.

    Dare still blows me away to this day. I may get my wish still as “The Human League are to mark their 30th anniversary with a special “Dare Tour” in December 2007 where they will play their most successful album in its entirety, to start the set list.” YAY OH YAY!!! See you there if you dare!

  5. I can image that was a hard decision to make. It’s hard when you have to depend on others for transportation. I probably would have selected The Human League over the Pretenders, though. I really hope they come to the States. I’d love to see them!

  6. When I first heard “Don’t You Want Me” it was like lightning striking- the uniqueness of the sound.I riushed out and bought Dare and then Leauge Orchestra Unlimited- (instrumental dub versions of Dare songs) I was hooked on the synth sound ever since. One of my personal favorites by Human League is “Louise”- bittersweet meeting between two old lovers. Great band who I would love to see one day.

Leave a Reply

