VHS or Beta

I know, I know… I haven’t posted in quite some time! I have good reasons; life is busy! But I do miss posting here, so I shall tonight! However, I am going to break out of the 80s for a moment!

My favorite band of the ’00s is VHS or Beta. Along with bands like Interpol, Editors, and others, it is evident they are influenced by many 80s new wave bands. Their new new wave sound may remind you of The Cure and Duran Duran amongst others.

I highly suggest if you are into the new breed of 80s-influenced indie rock, to check these guys out! Their new album “Bring on the Comets” is a solid, yet less dance-focused follow up to 2004’s “Night on Fire”. The sky is the limit for these guys, though. They’ve got the chops.

“Can’t Believe A Single Word” (from “Bring on the Comets”)

“Night on Fire” (from “Night on Fire”)

“You Got Me” (from “Night on Fire”)

About Marilyn

DJ, Digital Diva, Domestic Dabbler

Posted on October 28, 2007, in new music, VHS or Beta. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t know. Musically, they’re talented. They got their chops. The singer sounds uncannily like Fat Bob before he got fat but they’re missing one thing that old cure songs had – hooks. To me the last two songs were virtually indistinguishable from each other. I will agree. The potential is there but I think they need to ripen on the vine a bit more. Also, they’re missing that early cure anger/anguish/angst, at least in the three videos here. Maybe, Mr. Smith can take them under his wings and do a little ghostwriting for them. Is there another of their songs out there I can listen to that can sell me on them?

  2. Since I am a fan of pretty much all of their stuff, I don’t know what to tell you to listen to that will make you like them. I guess they are one of those bands you either like them or you don’t.

    They started out sounding a lot like Daft Punk; less guitars, more synths. Now they are truly a guitar band with synths added for flavor. Which I’m finding I’m liking quite a bit! I was afraid I was going to like this album less than the last, but I think it’s better. And they certainly have potential to be one of the greats out of this decade.

    I’d say listen to the whole album “Night on Fire”, then move on to the latest album “Bring on the Comets”. Perhaps you might need to listen a couple of times before they grow on ya. I dunno man. 🙂

    Obviously it helps a great deal that they have a HOT Korean lead singer. It’s merely a bonus (in my eyes) for a great sound. 🙂

Leave a Reply

