Fad Gadget

Since we’re celebrating 30 Years of Mute Records next month at Sex Dwarf, I decided to re-visit some of the roster. Mute artists count as some of my favorite. It’s the home of Depeche Mode, Erasure, Yazoo, Cabaret Voltaire, Nitzer Ebb… and Fad Gadget aka Frank Tovey.

I think there was a period in the 90s where I listened to Fad Gadget practically non-stop.

“For Whom The Bell Tolls”

“Back To Nature”

“Lady Shave”

“Collapsing New People”

About Marilyn

DJ, Digital Diva, Domestic Dabbler

Posted on January 12, 2008, in Fad Gadget, Frank Tovey, Mute Records. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. A great synthpop/avant/performance art band. Looking at these videos makes me wish I had seen them live. Looks like it would have been a fun gig to watch as well as to hear. Many kudos to Mute Records for their stellar roster of artists.

  2. Yeah, it kills me that there are a lot of bands I never got to see live. I can’t wait to indulge my love of the Mute roster next month at my gig. I will enjoy it quite a bit.

  3. I love Fad Gadget and Mute Records. Collapsing New People was a favorite of mine and I rushed out and bought Frank Tovey’s solo album Snakes and ladders when it came out. Definitely a band who influenced many people later in the 80s and early 90s as Dance oriented tracks became more popular.

    BTw, I am starting a little indie/alternative blog at http://www.svalta.com that you might want to look at. It’s pretty lame now but I am trying.

  4. Hey Brent,

    Thanks for commenting. And yes, Fad Gadget/Frank Tovey were quite influential. “Love Parasite” is probably my favorite track.

    Your blog is off to a good start! Keep at it. I’ve been on a little bit of a hiatus the past couple of weeks. I’ll get back to posting again real soon. I do it for fun / not profit. So I don’t feel any particular urgency to post on a frequent basis. I post when the urge hits me. 😉 Enjoy yourself!

  5. Thanks for the comments. I am not profit motivated either. I link to Ebay for a convenience factor mostly since I currently am not holding any auctions. I will place a link to your site in my blogroll if that allright. Hope you had a pleasant Valentine’s day.

  6. Cool Brent! I will post a link to your site as well. Keep in touch!

  1. Pingback: Killing Joke « The New Wave Diva ©

Leave a Reply

