New Erasure Single – When I Start To (Break It All Down)

I have to say when I first heard that Erasure were putting out a new album with non-other thank Frankmusik as the producer, I felt an extreme sense of glee. If you recall when I wrote this blog entry way back in 2009, I had become enamoured with Vincent Frank. I will admit, I lost track of him over the past year or so. I had no idea that he lost the fun, synthpop sensibility and started producing straight-up auto-tuned modern pop crap! I only discovered that the other day and, frankly, I won’t dignify it with any further mention.

Anyways, I had psyched myself up so much over the new album, Tomorrow’s World. I figured that whatever Erasure would put out, I would love, especially if Frankmusik had a hand in it.

Well, today, the first single “When I Start To (Break It All Down)” dropped. Color me mostly unimpressed. I hear Vince Clarke’s work there, but auto-tuning Andy Bell’s beautiful voice is just completely unacceptable to me! His voice is glorious. Leave it alone.

Click on the image below to listen to it on their website. I’d be curious to see what some of you think. I just hope they don’t break out the auto-tune at the live show. *CRINGE*

P.S. I still adore Erasure. 🙂

About Marilyn

Gastronomic Hedonist, Tiki Lifestyle Dreamer, Digital Marketing Professional, Former Nightclub DJ, Happy Homemaker Wannabe, Cat Mommy, etc.

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Erasure. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

